Reality: The Key Press Map Edition

Saturday 24 March Progress Report (Previous Report)

Where My Word Count Should Be: 45,000 words

Where My Word Count Is: 45,021 words

  • Overview

Much like last week, today there was no issue with Reality. I would like to include something I find very important that I did as a test. See, my keyboard has the capability to record key presses I make, and I did that this week with Reality, so you can get a sense of how many keys I press every week. There are some mistakes included in this, such as 2, 5, and the = key. I found it quite interesting to see which specific keys found more use. As expected, Spacebar and Backspace were the most common keys I press.

Key Presses

I did not fall victim to a nap this week, but this is due to the fact that I had a lot more energy to utilise this week, even as personal stress catches up to me. My writing is the one thing that makes me feel comfortable and reduces my stress.

  • What I Did Today

Today was more of Max Taylor and his character development. I find that Reality is more a case study of character rather than an all out dramatic piece that relies on high tension to tell a story. Reality is, at least to me, a slow story that builds toward the ultimate end goal. As such, sequences like today’s character development consist a majority portion of Reality and that is what makes it such a unique novel.

  • The Best Sample From Today

Today’s best sample is something that really resonates with the state of the world today. I like to consider myself an all-inclusive writer, so for me to write in a transgender character is something that requires no thought. In fact, until this paragraph, there is little evidence of the character being transgender.

Tessa was the second subject that decided to cross my mind. I thought about everything Dad said and while a lot of it was wrong or misguided, there was merit to his reasoning. Theodore, as Mum and Dad named her at birth, was the shining light in our family. Intelligent and well read, little would stand in Theodore’s way. Unlike Mum or Dad, I noticed how unhappy Theodore was in life. I noticed he would drag his feet and retreat to a quiet place whenever possible. I had no idea what went on behind those closed doors, but one day it all erupted. That was the day Theodore announced to the world that he was no longer a male, but a female. I cannot say that Tessa was ‘born’ that day, but that day our lives changed.

This is a different and more compassionate internal monologue from Max Taylor. It is a rare spot of hope for him and the reader can see what I am aiming for. It is difficult to write something like this, but that makes it easier for me to represent how difficult such a thing is in real life. I know this for a fact as I am in the same conundrum I write about above and that is all I will say about that.

  • How Productive I Felt I Was

This week signifies Reality as being very close to finished. The work I did today segues neatly into the final chapters coming up. It might not be very clear right now, but I will admit now that the purpose of Reality is to fracture the reader’s brain and show them that what they see/read around them is not entirely truthful.

The accomplishment I did today by making the conscious decision to include a transgender character without calling too much attention to it makes me feel more confident than ever. Something about writing so close to the heart makes me feel vindicated about my decision to become a writer.

  • What I Intend To Write Next Week

Next week I will write sequences that allow the reader to learn more about why Max Taylor is the way he is. It is not an easy thing to do, but with the work I did this week,  I believe I can manage to continue on the upward trend I have encountered this past week.


Like, share and follow my blog for more or less of the same, but that’s what you get from me. You know I am a writer, and you will get writing stuff from me.

You can also follow/friend me on the following:

3 thoughts on “Reality: The Key Press Map Edition

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.